Monday, January 6, 2014

Day 2

SNOW DAY!!  Yes, as a teacher I think I am more excited about this than the students are.  Sent the kids to day care (I know I sound like a mean mom, but we are starting a new place today and really just want to get the routine down with them), came home, and chilled for a bit while the mister was outside snow blowing (for his 2nd hour straight!).

After he came in we decided we would have a little lunch date, but instead of getting all dolled up (yeah, right, I'm never dolled up...what I really meant was becoming presentable to the public) and then running later today, I figured I would just get my run over with.  We all know that when something isn't habit, it's easy to just say we'll do it later when in reality we will never do it, right?!?  Thankfully we have a treadmill too because there is no way in hell I would be going outside in this frigid weather.  I think it was 9 degrees when I woke up with a wind chill of -12.  Even the dedicated runners might think twice before heading outside in this today.

So, on to the basement I went.  Today's run wasn't as easy as yesterdays, although I feel like that always happens on the second day.  You aren't quite as excited as the day before, so some of that drive wears off.  I got through it though - only after texting the hubby to bring me down some water (yeah, he had the day off too).  One thing I have to do, aside from finding a training plan, is update my running music.  I think I pinned a few good pandora stations, but the issue with that is since I'm using an interval training program on my phone, if I get out of the program to use another app, it stops my program.  When I go back into the running program, you have to start all over.  Okay, so what do you expect for a $3.99 app?  I unfortunately found that out the hard way after the text about water.

After running, and showering, we headed to Panera for lunch.  I opted for the 1/2 thai chicken flatbread and the 1/2 classic salad.  YUMMY!  It's been so long since we've been there and it tasted excellent.  We used to go every Sunday before the boys were born, but well, they are almost 3 now, so that shows how long it's been.

Today's stats:
Type of run: Interval, run 1:30/walk 2
Length of run: 34 minutes
Distance of run: 3.25 miles
Speed: 10.46 minutes/mile
Felt:  Not bad but not as good as yesterday.  Definitely not in sync with running yet.

Okay, any of you lookers out there?  What are some good tunes to run to?  I know a lot of good songs, but I need some that will keep with the tempo of running, say, 6.5-7mph.  Any suggestions?

Sunday, January 5, 2014

Here we go!

Yup, it's a new year.  2014, here we go!  Is running just my little resolution this year?  Actually, no it's not.  I don't have a resolution.  I think that just the mere sound of the word "resolution" has this stigma already attached to it of failure.

So, why am I wannabe runner?  Well, many years ago - okay, maybe 5 or 6, I was in the best shape of my life.  I was working out religiously every morning before work (and I got to work by 6:30-7am everyday!), running, taking spin classes, and I was pumped up.  I'm not one to just say to myself "sure, let's just get up really fucking early and work out for no reason", so I needed some sort of goal - some motivation.  My BFF's husband is a runner and he suggested since I was already running, to train for a race.  He was doing the Rock N Roll Marathon in Cleveland in May so I thought since I had a decent amount of time to train that the Half Marathon seemed doable.  From then on, I didn't question getting out of bed when my alarm went off at 4:45, I just got my ass up, and was out of the house within 5-10 minutes to head to the gym.  I know, crazy right?  Why is it now that I can't get my ass to the treadmill in the basement?

Anyways, that year, I ran my first half marathon and I loved the competition of it.  Okay, so it was competition against myself, but that's just as good too.  After having these last two weeks off of work and taking the "relaxation" of my vacation to a whole new level (being as lazy as possible) because damn it, I deserved it, I realized how sick I am of myself right now.  The number on the scale has gone up about 5 pounds and my jigglies have returned in not-so-fun places.  Running around the house after the kids has opened my eyes to these new jigglies and it is NOT fun.  I've been lounging in comfy pants the past few weeks so when I put jeans on the other day, they were a bit tighter than I remember 2 weeks ago.  Really?  REALLY? In just two weeks?  FML.  Can I blame the dryer for shrinking them?  Nope, not this time - I've had these jeans for more than a year.

So, I texted my BFF who also runs, or should I say, has run but not in quite a while and looked to see if she wanted to get on the band wagon with me.  She was in!  Woo hoo!!  We're not sure which one, but we plan to sign up for a half marathon in May or June.  Although we live 45 minutes away, we won't really be able to run with each other daily, but we plan to do at least one long run with each other a month.  Be there to push the other one's ass if we feel too lazy to get up and run.  You know, I was thinking about how I have never said "dang, I wish I wouldn't have just went for a run", when I know I have said "dang, why didn't I just go run while the boys were napping?".  I've never regretted running, so why not just get up and do it?!?

So, a wannabe runner, I am!  Sure I have run, but I'm not and never have been a true "runner".  Maybe one day in the distant future, I can call myself a runner, but for now, I'm just a wannabe and I'm okay with it!  Even people in the business world don't get a title until they earned it.  So here I am, ready to earn the term runner.  

The point of this blog?  I'm not sure anyone will even read it to be honest - I'm not going to post it all over Facebook like I do the one about my 2 year old twin boys and what they've been up to, but this is just one way for me to document what I've been doing.  Another way to hold myself to the commitment of running.  For me to look back and see how far I've come (hopefully) along the next few months.

Today, I actually ran for the first time in about a month.  Sure I've taken our dog for a few runs/walks over the past few weeks off, but those weren't serious runs.  Even a month ago when I ran, I didn't go more than one day because I jammed my damn toe on a toy the kids had on the floor which hurt for the next few days and was excuse enough not to keep going.  So, I'm going to take the month of January just to develop the habit of running.  To get some time in and develop a little more endurance for it.  In February, I will start my full on press to half-marathon training.  Wish me luck!

Today's stats:
Weight: 144.8 lbs
Type of run: Interval, run/walk
Length of run: 36 minutes
Distance of run: 3.18 miles
Speed: 11.32 minutes/mile
Felt:  Not too bad but I did hit a bit of a wall around the 21 minute mark

If by any chance this blog does reach your eyes, please feel free to comment and introduce yourself.  Especially if you are a beginning runner, maybe we can push each other through this common goal - but even if you are an advanced runner, I have a lot to learn - SHARE your words of wisdom!

Next up:  Finding the right training plan!